Winners of the West Suffolk Sports Awards

The second West Suffolk Sports Awards, sponsored by Greene King, took place at Tattersalls, in Newmarket, on Thursday, September 27, in front of almost 200 guests.

The sports awards for West Suffolk were delivered by Abbeycroft Leisure on behalf of St Edmundsbury and Forest Heath councils, celebrating sporting heroes, volunteers, clubs, coaches, teams and individuals.

There were 13 categories including Sports Personality of the Year, Young Sports Personality of the Year, Club of the Year and Lifetime Achievement plus two public vote awards; the People’s Champion and People’s Youth Champion.

Harriet Welham of Ipswich Basketball Club, took the title of Sports Personality of the Year for her role in leading the team to three national titles and winning three most valuable player awards herself, one of those being MVP of the league. As well as playing, Harriet also coaches for the club and in primary schools and is an unbelievable role model.

Maurice Fearn was given the Lifetime Achievement Award for his dedication to Rougham Table Tennis Club for over 25 years and Bury Bicycle Collective took Club of the Year for getting more women riding their bikes.

Guest speaker for the evening was Anna Street, from Bury St Edmunds, who completed the Marathan Des Sables in 2016 and last year fractured her pelvis during the Challenge Venice Triathlon at the 68th mile, yet still managed to get back on her bike and finish another 44 miles.

Sarah Howard, chair of trustees for Abbeycroft Leisure said  “It was a superb evening in a very unique setting and it was our pleasure to again host the awards for West Suffolk. The sporting talent we have in this area as well as the many people behind the scenes deserve an evening of celebration such as this and it provides yet another opportunity to underpin our ambition to become England’s Most Active County”.

She added: “We are also very grateful to our headline sponsor Greene King and all our individual award sponsors, without whom, these special events just wouldn’t happen.”

Matt Starbuck, managing director Greene King Brewing & Brands said: “Greene King is one of the most passionate supporters of sports clubs throughout the UK and particularly in our home county of Suffolk. As sponsor of hundreds of clubs, organisations, sporting events and endeavours, we believe sport is the ultimate way to bring people together. We are thrilled to be headline sponsors for the West Suffolk Sports Awards once again and congratulate the award winners,  both sportspeople and volunteers, who make sport in our county the success it is.”

Councillors Andy Drummond and Jo Rayner, portfolio holders for Leisure respectively at Forest Heath District Council and St Edmundsbury, said: Our councils have made healthy, strong families and communities a priority and these awards show how every single person can have a massive influence. We thank in particular, the volunteers who energise a virtuous circle of participation that allows others to achieve and thrive.  Congratulations to all those nominated, recognised, and to all those who may be unrecognised, so far –  for keeping the spirit of sport strong.”

The full results were as follows:- Allied Heath Professionals  Most Active Workplace – Sanofi Haverhill; West Suffolk College School of the Year – Laureate Academy Primary School; Unison Unsung Hero – Carla Barnes; Smarter Drop from Anglian Water Community Volunteer of the Year –   Carla Barnes; KiiWii Clothing and promotions Triumph Over Adversity – Jordan Black; Paddy and Scotts Lifetime Achievement –  Maurice Fearn; Newprint  Individual Performance Of The Year – Steph Hanratty; Suffolk Sport Coach of the Year – Hayley Rigby; Iliffe Media People’s Champion – Gary Dourado; Iliffe Media People’s Youth Champion – Emma Bartley; Greene King  Club of the Year – Bury Bicycle Collective; Newmarket Racecourses Young Sports Personality of the Year – Esther Little; Music Sales Ltd Sports Personality of the Year –  Harriet Welham

Pictured above are all winners of 2018 West Suffolk Sports Awards.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *