Ancient music gets a thrilling new lease of life

AAM 2009 Photo: Marco Borggreve

Viktoria Mullova joins Richard Egarr and the Academy of Ancient Music for a concert at The Apex next week that sets the sublime against the joyful in music by Haydn and Bach.

Mullova’s intelligence and artistry place her among the most exciting soloists of her generation, a violinist whose bold clarity of vision lets the music speak directly to the listener.

The Academy of Ancient Music is one of the world’s first period instrument ensembles.

Back in 1973, most orchestras played classical music in a modern style. The instruments were different; the pitch was different; the number of players was different; the very essence and spirit of performances was different.

But change was in the air. Wouldn’t it be great, people asked, if we could turn the clock back; if we could find out more about composers’ original intentions and get closer to the style in which music was originally performed? This was the spirit in which Christopher Hogwood founded the AAM.

AAM was a pioneer in historically-informed Baroque performance; the whole orchestra working together to rediscover sounds which hadn’t been heard for hundreds of years.

The orchestra continue to explore the sound-worlds which inspired Bach, Handel and Haydn. They revel in the expressive power of old instruments – flutes made out of wood, trumpets without valves, strings woven from gut. It’s not just the sound of the music which has changed – AAM performances are full of energy and passion and joy.  

The Academy of Ancient Music play at The Apex on Monday, November 18, at 7.30pm. Ring the box office on 01284 758000 or see the website – for details.

Full programme:

J.S. Bach        Concerto for Violin No. 1 in A minor, BWV1041

Haydn             Concerto for Violin in G, HobVIIa:4

J.S. Bach        ‘Aria’ from Goldberg Variations, BWV988 (arr. Violin)

C.P.E. Bach    Symphony No.4 in A, H66

Haydn             Symphony No.4 in D, HobI:4

Haydn             ‘Fac me vere tecum flere’ from Stabat Mater, HobXXa:1

Grimani           Sinfonia from Pallade e Marte

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *