Trailblazing Bury St Edmunds equine surgeon awarded British Veterinary Association’s highest scientific honour

BVA president Justine Shotton presenting the award to Prof Tim Greet. Photo: British Veterinary Association.

Equine surgery specialist Professor Tim Greet has been awarded the British Veterinary Association’s (BVA) most prestigious scientific award for his outstanding contributions to equine clinical practice and welfare globally, during the association’s awards ceremony today (September 29).

The Dalrymple-Champneys Cup and Medal is presented each year to a BVA member whose work supports the advancement of veterinary science.

Professor Greet has received the award in recognition of his distinctive contributions to the veterinary profession and his specialist area of equine surgery, as well as for representing the profession in the veterinary political arena, promoting the welfare of working animals internationally, and mentoring and training younger colleagues and students.

He said: Professor Greet said: “It is very humbling to be awarded the Dalrymple-Champneys Cup and Medal, following in the footsteps of so many influential predecessors. I must acknowledge the huge support I have received over the years from family and colleagues and the inspirational support in my early career from several previous winners of this award.”

Presenting the award  BVA President Justine Shotton said: “Tim has been and continues to be a trailblazer within equine veterinary practice in an influential career spanning more than 45 years. Apart from his many contributions to equine health and welfare, he has been a true champion of the veterinary profession through his leadership at various veterinary associations, not least as British Veterinary Association President between 2003-2004.

“He is an immensely worthy recipient of the Dalrymple-Champneys Cup and Medal and I am absolutely delighted to be presenting this award to him.”

Aberdeen-born Professor Greet graduated from Glasgow University in 1976 with a distinction in veterinary medicine, followed by a master’s degree in surgery the next year from the same university.

He then moved to the Equine Research Station, in Newmarket, where he obtained an FRCVS by dissertation in 1982. In the following decade, he was among the first crop of vets to become European and RCVS diplomates and specialists, having been awarded a certificate in equine orthopaedics and a diploma in equine soft tissue surgery by the RCVS.

Professor Greet began his career with Peter Rossdale’s Newmarket equine practice, where he became a partner in 1984. In 1997, the practice got the distinction of being the first equine hospital in Newmarket and is now one of the largest private equine practices in Europe.

His abiding interest has been the mentorship of younger colleagues; over the years, he has played an active role in training and mentoring a number of equine interns and surgical residents within the practice. He has also lectured and operated in numerous countries around the world.

Alongside his distinguished career in practice, Professor Greet has held many prestigious positions in national and international veterinary organisations.

He is a past President of BVA, the British Equine Veterinary Association, the European College of Veterinary Surgeons and the World Equine Veterinary Association, as well as being a trustee and chairman of the Society for Protection of Animals Abroad (SPANA). He recently became chairman of the ECVS Boards of Regents, a tenure he will hold for a year.

In recognition of his many accomplishments, Prof Greet, who comes from Bury St Edmunds, was made an honorary lecturer at the University of Cambridge in 2001 and an honorary professor of the University of Glasgow in 2004.

BVA Members’ Day and AGM is an annual event which includes the awards ceremony and the election of BVA’s President, Senior Vice President and Junior Vice President. This year’s event was held at Clare College, Cambridge.

This year’s awards have been handed out to five vets for their exceptional commitment, work and achievements.

Alongside Prof. Greet, other awardees are farm and mixed practice vet Dr David McKeown (Chiron Award); retired mixed practice vet Paul Freeman (John Bleby Cup); and University of Cambridge student Annabelle Lack and Dr Rosa Loedel, veterinary graduate from University of Edinburgh (The Harry Steele-Bodger Memorial Travel Scholarship).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *